CES Press Release

White House Officials, Cabinet Secretary, Federal Chairmen and Congressional Leaders Join CES 2018 Innovation Policy Track

Arlington, VA – 12/19/2017 – The Consumer Technology Association (CTA) today announced that more than a dozen of federal government officials – including a cabinet secretary, White House officials, and every member of two federal commissions – will speak at CES® 2018. Among the policymakers delivering remarks or speaking on panels: Secretary of Transportation Elaine Chao, Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman Ajit Pai, Federal Trade Commission (FTC) Acting Chairman Maureen Ohlhausen, and many other officials from the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

“CES isn’t just a can’t-miss event for industry leaders, but also for government officials at the intersection of technology and public policy. It is truly a cross-sector phenomenon from which we all benefit,” said Gary Shapiro, president and CEO, CTA. “The best tech policy discussions and solutions come when the government and the industry are working together. As technology becomes more intuitive, impactful and connected, it is critical to show policymakers how emerging and disruptive technologies make our world and our lives better.”

Owned and produced by CTA, CES 2018 will run January 9-12, 2018, in Las Vegas, Nev. More than 4,000 companies exhibited and over 180,000 industry professionals attended CES 2017, including more than 60,000 attendees from outside the United States.

A full listing of all government officials and industry leaders speaking at CES 2018 conference sessions follows:

Tuesday, January 9, 2018

SuperSession: Insights from the FCC and FTC
FCC Chairman Ajit Pai
FTC Acting Chairman Maureen Ohlhausen

Administration’s Approach to Innovation and Tech Policy
Michael Kratsios, Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy U.S. Chief Technology Officer—White House

The Future of Work for Both Human and Machines
Ned Finkle, Vice President, External Affairs – NVIDIA
Bridget Karlin, Chief Technology Officer and VP – IBM
Evelyn Ramaley, Deputy Associate Administrator – NTIA

2018 Preview: FCC and FTC Commissioner Roundtable
Opening Remarks: David Redl, Administrator – NTIA
FCC Commissioner Mignon Clyburn
FCC Commissioner Michael O'Rielly
FCC Commissioner Brendan Carr
FTC Commissioner Terrell McSweeny

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Incorporating Drones and Self Driving Vehicles into Communities
Opening Remarks: U.S Transportation Secretary Elaine L. Chao
Marjorie Dikeman, Global Director and Associate General Counsel, Automated Driving and Internet of Things Policy – Intel
Ethan Klein, Policy Advisor, Emerging Technologies – Office of Science and Technology Policy, White House
Cory Hunt, Deputy Director – Nevada Governor’s Office of Economic Development
Lorenzo Murzilli, Manager, Innovation and Advanced Technologies – Switzerland’s Federal Office of Civil Aviation

Protecting the Internet Economy
Steve Marks, Chief, Digital Business and General Counsel – Recording Industry Association of America
Sasha Moss, Tech Policy Manager – R Street Institute

How Immigrants are Driving Success in Tech
Jon Baselice, Director Immigration Policy – U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Ximena Hartsock, Co-Founder – Phone2Action
Portia Wu, Director, Workforce Policy – Microsoft

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Taking Stock: A New Year for Drone Innovation
Trevor Bergmann, Chief Executive Officer – AeroVision Canada Inc.
Earl Lawrence, Executive Director, Unmanned Aircraft Systems Integration Office – FAA
Adrienne Lindgren, Manager Economic Policy – Office of Economic Development at Office of Los Angeles Mayer Eric Garcetti
Taylor Mitcham, Chief Drone Ninja – SkyNinja

How States can be Innovation Leaders
Rick Snyder, Governor of Michigan

Sustainability Policies in the Tech Industry
Dr. Pekka Hakkarainen, Vice President, Government and Industry Relations – Lutron Electronics
Barnes Johnson, Director of Resource Conservation and Recovery – EPA

Preparing America for Jobs of the Future
Hilary Cain, Director Technology and Innovation Policy – Toyota
Sara Decker, Director, Federal Government Affairs – Walmart
Wynn Coggins, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer – USPTO
Stephen Hartell, Director, US Public Policy – Amazon
David Lewis, President and CEO – Operations Inc.

Sharing Economy: Tech to the Rescue
Casey Aden-Wansbury, Director of Federal Affairs & Engagement – Airbnb
Vikrum Aiyer, Vice President of Global Policy and Strategic Communications – Postmates
Katie Kincaid, Director of Political Partnerships and Engagement – Lyft
Philip Minardi, Director, Policy Communications – Expedia

Legislative Outlook for Tech in 2018
Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX)
Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA)
Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY)
Press Contacts:

Justin Siraj

Izzy Santa